BackBuy Tickets
Free Entry

Third Coast Percussion - Since Time Began



8:00 pm


9:30 pm


Pavillon - main hall

The US percussion quartet trumps with probably the fullest stage of the festival and a fabulously diverse programme of renowned US composers.

Third Coast Percussion is a GRAMMY Award-winning percussion quartet and composer collective from Chicago. They are one of the most important groups in the percussion world today. We are delighted and indescribably proud that they will celebrate the start of their 20th anniversary together with us in Hannover. They are bringing several highlights with them: the centrepiece of their programme is the piece Since Time Began, composed by drum veteran Michael Burritt for the 400th anniversary of the traditional cymbal company Zildjian. After the world premiere at the last PASIC (the leading drum event in the USA) they will honour us at the Überschlag Festival with the European premiere of this mammoth work.

No less interesting is another new piece which is the result of an extraordinary collaboration between two composers: Grand Seigneur Philip Glass and electro musician Jlin finally throw genre thinking overboard and bring something almost danceable to the concert hall. Further works by the Armenian jazz pianist Tigran Hamasyan and a mallet quartet by the young composer Machado Mijiga make the programme one of the most diverse of our festival.

Third Coast Percussion
David Skidmore | Robert Dillon | Peter Martin | Sean Connors Percussion